Health and Wellness
Quality Health Services for Bay Area Residents

The San Francisco-Oakland-Fremont Metropolitan Statistical Area, or the Bay Area, has a stable, highly educated, relatively affluent and ethnically diverse population of nearly 4.5 million. It is also home to some of the finest hospitals and specialty health-care facilities staffed by talented, recognized physicians and providers. Here, residents of all ages have access to a suite of comprehensive services and treatments. In addition, many of the facilities offer the most modern, state-of-the-art equipment available.

According to the California Healthcare Foundation (CHCF), the state of California spent a total of $230.1 billion on health care in 2009, and in 2011, the state reported that 1.5 million of its residents were employed in the health-care profession. In a regional market study by the Center for Studying Health System Change, the key findings of the San Francisco report noted that Kaiser Permanente and Sutter Health are the dominant hospital systems in the Bay Area, and the largest health plans in the local market are Kaiser and Anthem Blue Cross, followed by Health Net and Blue Shield of California. The study also reported that San Francisco General Hospital and Alameda County Medical Center are the major safety-net hospitals that provide primary care to the uninsured.

The San Francisco Bay Area has a variety of medical facilities available to its residents, some of which are part of larger health systems that serve other parts of California and sometimes beyond. The following section outlines those systems as well as some of the other busiest hospitals in the nine-county region. Learn more in this section about specific hospitals and facilities available in the region.

— Kaiser Permanente
Founded as a public program in 1945 from a post-Depression industrial health care for construction, shipyard and steel-mill workers, Kaiser Permanente is one of the nation’s largest not-for-profit health plans, serving more than 9 million members. Kaiser Permanente is headquartered in Oakland and comprises Kaiser Foundation Hospitals and their subsidiaries; the Kaiser Foundation Health Plan, Inc.; and The Permanente Medical Groups. At the end of 2011, Kaiser Permanente’s health plan in Northern California had 3.35 million members, and the entire system included 37 hospitals, 611 medical offices, almost 16,660 physicians representing all specialties and nearly 173,000 total employees.

Resulting from the challenge of providing Americans medical care during the Great Depression and World War II when most people could not afford to go to a doctor, Kaiser Permanente made many innovations in U.S. health care, such as prepaid health plans, which spread the cost to make it more affordable; physician group practice, which maximizes their abilities to care for patients; a focus on preventing illness as much as caring for the sick; and an organized delivery system to put as many services as possible under one roof.

Following are the Kaiser Permanente medical facilities available to Bay Area residents:
  • Dameron Hospital
  • Kaiser Permanente Fremont Medical Center and Offices
  • Kaiser Permanente Hayward Medical Center
  • Kaiser Permanente Redwood City Medical Center
  • Kaiser Permanente Richmond Medical Center
  • Kaiser Permanente San Francisco Medical Center and Medical Offices
  • Kaiser Permanente San Jose Medical Center
  • Kaiser Permanente Santa Rosa Medical Center and Medical Offices
  • Kaiser Permanente San Rafael Medical Center
  • Kaiser Permanente Santa Clara Medical Center and Medical Offices
  • Kaiser Permanente Vallejo Medical Center
  • Kaiser Permanente Walnut Creek Medical Center
  • Oakland Medical Center
  • South San Francisco Medical Center
  • Vacaville Medical Center

— Sutter Health System
Sutter Health is a network of doctors and hospitals in Northern California that offers nearly 48,000 physicians, employees and volunteers who care for patients in more than 100 Northern California cities and towns. As a not-for-profit organization, Sutter Health System invests its earnings in patient care, and in 2011 alone, it spent $756 million investing in services for the poor and underserved and benefits for the broader community.

In 2011, Sutter Health System served nearly 786,000 ER visits and 10.5 million outpatient visits at its 24 hospitals, 28 outpatient surgery centers and 45 other specialty centers for cardiac, cancer, acute rehabilitation, behavioral health, trauma and neonatal patients. Sutter Health System has earned many awards, six in 2011 alone, for its service to its employees and patients. Its 2011 awards include the Joyce Raley Teel Humanitarian Philanthropy Award from the local American Red Cross chapter, a Gold Award in Best Employers for Healthy Lifestyles from the National Business Group on Health and a Gold Award from CA Fit Business.

Following are the Sutter Health medical facilities available to Bay Area residents:
  • Alta Bates Summit Medical Center Ashby Campus
  • Alta Bates Summit Medical Center Herrick Campus
  • Alta Bates Summit Medical Center Summit Campus
  • California Pacific Medical Center California Campus
  • California Pacific Medical Center Davies Campus
  • California Pacific Medical Center Pacific Campus
  • California Pacific Medical Center St. Luke’s Campus
  • Eden Medical Center Eden Campus
  • Eden Medical Center San Leandro Hospital Campus
  • Menlo Park Surgical Hospital
  • Mills-Peninsula Health Services
  • Novato Community Hospital
  • Sutter Delta Medical Center
  • Sutter Lakeside Hospital and Center for Health
  • Sutter Maternity & Surgery Center of Santa Cruz
  • Sutter Medical Center of Santa Rosa
  • Sutter Medical Center of Santa Rosa Warrack Campus
  • Sutter Solano Medical Center

— John Muir Health
A leader in health care in the San Francisco Bay Area, John Muir Health is a not-for-profit integrated system of physicians, employees and volunteers at two of the largest medical centers in Contra Costa County: John Muir Medical Center, Walnut Creek, a 572-licensed bed medical center that is Contra Costa County’s only designated trauma center; and John Muir Medical Center, Concord, a 313-licensed bed medical center. Together, these facilities are preeminent centers for neurosciences, orthopedics, cancer care, cardiovascular care and high-risk obstetrics. John Muir Health also offers complete inpatient and outpatient behavioral health programs and services at its Behavioral Health Center, a fully accredited, 73-bed psychiatric hospital in Concord. Other areas of specialty include general, robotic and weight-loss surgery as well as rehabilitation and critical care.

Buying Your New Home Thanks to a sound economy, ...
Building Your Custom Dream Home Now that you are ...
Metropolitan Living Across the Bay East Bay is the ...
Learning From Kindergarten to College California’s public education system ...
Your Guide to Financing and Mortgage Although a newcomer ...
Quality Health Services for Bay Area Residents The San ...
Protecting Your Family and Property in San Francisco Once ...
Trailing Spouses—Job Hunting in the Bay Area Many San ...
Planning and Managing Your Move It’s been a hectic ...
Staying Organized Before The Move You’ve just received exciting ...
Alternatives to Buying a Home As a newcomer to ...
San Francisco In Depth Officially named the City and ...
An Unmatched Quality of Life San Francisco is one ...
The Technology Capital of the West Coast South Bay ...
Ease of Living With A View If you ask ...